OSX help
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Last Man Standing Coop Forum Index -> 2.0 Official Tech Support and Feedback
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Jamarcus



Joined: 26 Nov 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2005 1:21 am    Post subject: OSX help Reply with quote

Hey guys, I've been having trouble getting LMS to work on my computer. I have a dual 2.5mhz powermac which runs doom 3 just fine. However, I anytime I try to load LMS, the game either gets to the loading screen with the picture of the one guy standing over all the dead guys and then crashes, or it just crashes all together and it kicks me back to the finder. I have the latest update for doom 3, and I have tried both the multi-platform download as well as the mac download and both do the same. Thanks for the help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MercyKiller
Mod Team Member


Joined: 16 Oct 2004
Posts: 1685
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2005 2:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got the mac 1.3 patch installed?
_________________
-MercyKiller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address MSN Messenger
Jamarcus



Joined: 26 Nov 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2005 3:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, I installed the 1.3 patch a little while back, and unless the in game update thing is wrong, which could very well be the case, my game is up to date. The only thing I haven't tried is uninstalling the game and then reinstalling it, mainly because I've been avoiding trying it for how much effort it would take. I'll let you know if I figure anything out. In the meantime, any ideas would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
calimer
Mod Team Member


Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 1949

PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2005 8:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you have tried to use the multiplatform and mac installer, you deleted the lms2 folder before trying to put the new install in it, correct? If not, you should delete the folder, download a new copy of the mod, then see what happens. Take care.
-calimer
_________________
Want to make your own 3D Games for Free? Free And Easy To Use Game Creation Software!! - Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker
Head Organizer of Last Man Standing Coop
Check out our business page
Sign up for our newsletter!
Come and talk to us on IRC
Visit our Moddb Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Sandman



Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 5:48 am    Post subject: Same Problem Here Reply with quote

I have a dual processor 2.3 ghz system and am having exactly the same problem. I have only tried the Mac installer and am current with my system and game patches.

Thanks for all your work on this game, I only hope I can play it!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
calimer
Mod Team Member


Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 1949

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you turn developer 1 on through the console and send us the log of what is happening? We don't have a Mac computer at our disposal but maybe the guy who did the Mac installer could shed some more light. Take care.
-calimer
_________________
Want to make your own 3D Games for Free? Free And Easy To Use Game Creation Software!! - Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker
Head Organizer of Last Man Standing Coop
Check out our business page
Sign up for our newsletter!
Come and talk to us on IRC
Visit our Moddb Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Sandman



Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2005 5:23 pm    Post subject: One more question Reply with quote

I'm afraid I'm not very familiar with the terminal. If you have a moment, I'd appreciate a short explanation of how to turn on "developer 1" and print a log.

Thanks again for the mod (and the help).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MercyKiller
Mod Team Member


Joined: 16 Oct 2004
Posts: 1685
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2005 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hit ctrl+alt+~ to bring down the console, type "developer 1" with no quotes, and type "condump" to print the log.
_________________
-MercyKiller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address MSN Messenger
calimer
Mod Team Member


Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 1949

PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2005 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also having developer 1 on creates a log with the name lms.log although it doesn't always seem to work 100%, at least in my experience. Take care.
-calimer
_________________
Want to make your own 3D Games for Free? Free And Easy To Use Game Creation Software!! - Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker
Head Organizer of Last Man Standing Coop
Check out our business page
Sign up for our newsletter!
Come and talk to us on IRC
Visit our Moddb Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Sandman



Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2005 4:58 am    Post subject: Ok, here's what I found... Reply with quote

Again, thank you for your help with this. Developer 1 did not create a lms.log document, however, Doom 3 generated a crash log and I also found my console log.

Here's what I found that seemed of note...

ERROR: Error: file lms2.pk4/script/doom_events.script, line 16: Unknown event 'enableClientThink'

And then...

PunkBuster Client: PunkBuster Client (v1.090 | A0) Enabled
PunkBuster Client: Game Version [DOOM 1.3.1302 MacOSX-ppc Jul 5 2005 15:12:17]
PunkBuster Client: Not Connected to a Server
WARNING: idSession: triggering mainmenu watchdog
Looking for devices matching vendor ID=1193 and product ID=8717
Looking for devices matching vendor ID=1193 and product ID=8718
Dec 2 20:35:07 [User]-Computer-53 crashdump[1324]: Doom 3 crashed
signal caught: Bus error
si_code 1
Trying to exit gracefully..

I edited out the name of my computer on the above-post and substituted [User].

The only other thing unusual about my configuration is I used the console to force 1920 x 1200 resolution.

Hope this helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
calimer
Mod Team Member


Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 1949

PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2005 5:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

With developer 1 on can you e-mail the console log to calimer@PlatinumArts.Net ? Take care.
-calimer
_________________
Want to make your own 3D Games for Free? Free And Easy To Use Game Creation Software!! - Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker
Head Organizer of Last Man Standing Coop
Check out our business page
Sign up for our newsletter!
Come and talk to us on IRC
Visit our Moddb Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Sandman



Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2005 5:40 am    Post subject: Done Reply with quote

On its way, and thanks again for the extra help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
calimer
Mod Team Member


Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 1949

PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2005 6:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well it looks like this is the main problem:

Quote:
ERROR: Error: file lms2.pk4/script/doom_events.script, line 16: Unknown event 'enableClientThink'


From what I can gather, that means that you are not properly loading up the LMS mod files, or more specifically the mac binary. You can check here and make sure the checksum matches up correct:
http://lms.d3files.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1442

Or specifically the one you want to check is:
Quote:
Loaded pk4 C:\Program Files\Doom3\lms2\game_lms202.pk4 with checksum 0x3f42a59e
Loaded pk4 C:\Program Files\Doom3\lms2\lms2.pk4 with checksum 0xb7a4de90


You can check what your checksums are and match it to these by using entering path into the doom 3 console.

Also make sure that your base folder is clear of any extra pk4s/mods that could be causing conflicts. Take care and I hope this helps.
-calimer
_________________
Want to make your own 3D Games for Free? Free And Easy To Use Game Creation Software!! - Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker
Head Organizer of Last Man Standing Coop
Check out our business page
Sign up for our newsletter!
Come and talk to us on IRC
Visit our Moddb Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
calimer
Mod Team Member


Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 1949

PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2005 6:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looking at your log I noticed that all that information is in there. From the looks of it all the checksums match up except:

Quote:
Loaded pk4 /Applications/Games/Doom 3/base/game00.pk4 with checksum 0x7dafc4d4


I wouldn't think you'd even need a correct checksum for that file, but perhaps for some reason it is causing problems. It is the only inconsistency that I can find. If you can get a new copy of that file, that might help. It would be good to backup your old pk4 or rename the extension to .zip just in case. I'll take a look a the log more tomorrow, but tonight I need to get to bed, especially with work in the morning. Take care.
-calimer
_________________
Want to make your own 3D Games for Free? Free And Easy To Use Game Creation Software!! - Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker
Head Organizer of Last Man Standing Coop
Check out our business page
Sign up for our newsletter!
Come and talk to us on IRC
Visit our Moddb Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
MercyKiller
Mod Team Member


Joined: 16 Oct 2004
Posts: 1685
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2005 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've gotten errors similar to that on linux before. Generally it had something t o do with inconsistent game libraries, which seems to fit what calimer's saying. Maybe try coming on IRC, irc.oftc.net, #lms-mod. One of us is bound to be on there, and can send you the replacement pak file from a working installation.
_________________
-MercyKiller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Last Man Standing Coop Forum Index -> 2.0 Official Tech Support and Feedback All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Empty or InValid Ad file




Mod Database Top 100

Doom 3 Coop Mod Last Man Standing Coop .:. Copyright Platinum Arts LLC

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group