Lag like crazy!

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Last Man Standing Coop Forum Index -> Beta 0.2 Tech Support and Feedback
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Pauly
Guest





PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:31 am    Post subject: Lag like crazy! Reply with quote

Hey guys i really wanted to check out this mod - I first tried some of the user made maps on my own server and they were awesome and well done i couldnt wait to play online. I joined a server- When i got it i had a 1fps constant framerate and could barely move out of spawn. I have a 4mb down connection to the internet and my computer is a p4 3.6ghz 2gb of ram and a x850xt pe. Wo- WTF? everyone on server wasnt lagging at all. even servers with no people in them that run LMS i get 1fps constand and can barely type chat. Any help? (also whats the command to change your network rate?) thanks. sweet mod Smile wish i can get it playable online thou
Back to top
MercyKiller
Mod Team Member


Joined: 16 Oct 2004
Posts: 1685
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 1:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmmm...no clue whats up with that. Has anyone else experienced similar problems? I know that it can get laggy with 4 people on a server.
_________________
-MercyKiller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address MSN Messenger
Guest






PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 1:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I havent experienced it but i have seen numerous times where people have been complaining of the same problem. I dont think it is the mod...because everyone would get it if it was that.
Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 2:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update on my progress- I turned off all firewalls plugged in directly straight to my modem. Nothing changed :\. But its not just the mod- its any doom3 multiplayers. this is a new computer- my old one didnt have this probelm on doom3. I get pings constant jumping into 500+ and the whole time i get between 1-3 fps and cant get out of the spawning area- Althou on running my own server its very very smooth and i get like 100+ fps all the time.
Back to top
AO
Mod Team Member


Joined: 29 Oct 2004
Posts: 745
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 2:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I agree it's a problem with the code, not specific to lms. It can be fixed, but it's not easy. Obviously there's something very wrong when you get that kind of performance on a high-end machine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Pauly
Guest





PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 6:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yea! I cant play the game- my ping is going crazy- Other machines running on my same internet can play on servers just fine with lower specs
Any help? my computer is only one having trouble.
Back to top
Hobbes
Mod Team Member


Joined: 13 Feb 2005
Posts: 1055
Location: NY

PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If possible try another one of your computers with Doom3 and LMS to see if it is your computer or internet connection. I don't believe the mod is the problem from talking to you earlier. When you were on my server your ping jumped all over the place from 150-999.

I saw you were running a server but by the time I tried to connect, it was gone. Did anybody else able to connect and if so, did you or the client have excessive lag?

Hobbes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
XxLaVaxX
LMS Fanatic


Joined: 15 Feb 2005
Posts: 245
Location: Houston,TX

PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.speedguide.net/
and few other sites besides that

has a optimiser and good info

also look for firmware upgrade for router

and/or look for Ethernet Driver updates bios and
Motherboard Specific DriveR
UPdates

incase of hardware conflictsor slow timings. being you have a new pc
from what i saw posted

but you will get lag etc in doom 3 ,
but not like what I saw from your ping jumps drastically ingame earlier.
try on a less full server after upgrading drivers and so on.
or a fun lms map gamemode server
with lots of monsters to playwith
*grins*

could be isp doing things(maintenence).who knows

no descriptive specs listed. maybe SISsandra program can
give good tips on your new pc there's a new version out.

that's my suggestions,and goodluck

but,.overall I don't think this is lms.2beta specific .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Pauly
Guest





PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, my connection is fine- Every game i play im getting very very low pings except for doom 3. Its some setting or something thats wack and is loosing packets for d3.
Back to top
Hobbes
Mod Team Member


Joined: 13 Feb 2005
Posts: 1055
Location: NY

PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I play regular doom3 team deathmatch I have an autoexec.cfg file that improved my fps. I found it using google, I forget where but if your search for 'doom3 tweaks' you will find it (google finds everything). If you want me to PM the contents of the file to you, let me know. It increased my fps from 35 to about 55. I do not use it with LMS and it seems to be ok.

You may also want to try using the lowest possible graphics setting.
Try fullscreen and windowed, maybe one will be better than the other.
Kill any other programs that may be running (aim, msn, etc)
I forget if you said you had the latest video drivers, but get them if you don't...

You may want to try out some of these and see how it goes.

Hope to see ya online...

Hobbes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
XxLaVaxX
LMS Fanatic


Joined: 15 Feb 2005
Posts: 245
Location: Houston,TX

PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

is that the only opengl game you play online?

i think i had that problem couple times online with opengl and ati card
(was a 7200)=-p
not sure to totally remeber.but i think
(1) RADlinker,Rage3d thingy or another BaCKgRouNd program (ccc)caused it with OPENGL based games either that or
(2)Not totally installing fresh vid drivers Over a old or modified set without uninstalling AND using drivercleaner first for a ToTally fresh install.
(3) cuz ati opengl is touchy anyway and if there's multiple things changing it or extra registry folders settings with anything that can happen ,slowdowns ingame and ping slashes.

to see your background processes i recommend use this
http://www.sysinternals.com/ntw2k/freeware/procexp.shtml

for startup i recommend use this
http://www.windowsstartup.com

for cleaning video card drivers
http://www.drivercleaner.net

I know with doom 3 Xfire(a live gaming messenger)=evil now like gamespy=
used to
cause it to where you couldn't move and other strange bugs period.
I posted in dx.ampednews.com of this

try these things all should help you out in some way. glad you tried the other things before......
hope you nip it in the bud.

ad-ware hijacking and bhQ's can cause strange things and slowdowns of that sort

GLXxLaVaxX
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Last Man Standing Coop Forum Index -> Beta 0.2 Tech Support and Feedback All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Empty or InValid Ad file




Mod Database Top 100

Doom 3 Coop Mod Last Man Standing Coop .:. Copyright Platinum Arts LLC

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group